Fulbright Scholar Award


Click here to read about our adventures in the Czech Republic.


I was named a Fulbright Scholar to teach in the Czech Republic at Tomas Bata University in Zlin and Vysoká Škola Finanční a Správní in Prague during the spring semester 2005.  The Fulbright program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The Fulbright program's purpose is to build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries.


Grant recipients are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement and because they have demonstrated extraordinary leadership potential in their fields. Among the thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Nobel Prize-winning economist Milton Friedman; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science; Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Rita Dove; Craig Barrett, CEO of Intel Corp; U.S. Sen. Daniel Patrick Moynihan; historian John Hope Franklin; writers John Updike, Eudora Welty and Joseph Heller; musicians Aaron Copland and Anna Moffo; and journalists Roger Rosenblatt, Georgia Anne Geyer, and Hedrick Smith.


Here is some of the press coverage about my Fulbright:

·        Pravo (Czech) Newspaper Article

·        Chapman University press release

·        Chapman Magazine article

·        Chapman Business article

·        Panther Newspaper article

·        Chapman Happenings article

·        DisciplesWorld article

·        Longmont Daily Times-Call article

·        Ladera Post article

·        AIS Newsletter Article

·        OC Business Journal Article

·        Univ. of Colorado Portfolio Article

·        Here is a nice letter from Congressman Calvert.


I would like to thank the following people for helping me with my Fulbright application:
Dean Doug Tuggle, Vern Richardson, and Theophanis Stratopoulos for writing recommendation letters and Nancy Gregory for proofreading and making valuable suggestions on how to improve my application.