Community Circulation Policies

The Library welcomes and encourages the community to use the Leatherby Libraries and its resources. A community library card is available to any Orange County resident that is at least 18 years of age, has a valid California Driver’s License or ID Card, and can show proof of current residence in Orange County.

Proof of residency will include a current Orange County address printed on the CA driver’s license/CA ID Card or by providing your CA driver’s license/CA ID Card along with a copy of a utility bill with your name and address matching your library registration information.

The cost of the community library card is $80.00 (cash only) and is valid for one year from the date of purchase. The card can be renewed for another year upon payment of the annual library card fee.


You must present your library card in order to borrow books. No substitutes will be accepted. Cards are not transferable. A replacement card must be obtained if lost or stolen.

Report any changes of address, telephone number, and/or other information to ensure the accuracy of your library circulation record.

You are responsible for all items checked out on your library circulation record, including items checked out for others.

You may have a maximum of 10 books checked out from the circulating collection. No audio/visual.

A receipt will be issued at the time of checkout indicating a due date for borrowed books. Please retain your receipt.

Any outstanding fines or overdue books will prevent you from renewing or borrowing.

Bookdrops are located outside of the building and inside the lobby of the Library for your convenience.

Books may be renewed on-line by going to the Leatherby Library website at www.chapman.edu/library and accessing your library circulation record or by telephone by calling the Circulation Department at (714) 532-7723. Books cannot be renewed if they have been placed on “hold” by another patron, have been recalled, or have reached a maximum renewal. Patrons are charged with keeping track of all due dates when renewing on-line; only system posted due dates are valid. Print the screen with the new due date and the word “RENEWED” for verification.

Please be aware of the posted library hours, changes in hours, or schedule variations. For updates of library hours please call (714) 532-7756 or check the Library website www.chapman.edu/library/info under Hours & Information.

You are responsible for all fines (overdue charges), processing fees (re-ordering and invoicing costs), and replacement fees (cost of book) which may result from overdue returns, damage to books, and lost or stolen books.

The 1974 Family Rights and Privacy Act, State of California Law, and California State Education Code prohibit revealing the name of any borrower who currently has an item checked out, as well as their borrowing record. This applies to all library users.


Checkout Privileges
  • Maximum of 10 books from the circulating collection
Checkout Times and Renewal Limits
  • Books & Oversize Books
    • 2 weeks with 1 renewal
  • McNaughton Books
    • 2 weeks with 1 renewal
  • Audio/Visual: (Audio CD's, Audio Tapes, CD-ROM's, DVD's & Videos)
    • No checkout
  • Reserves
    • No checkout
  • Abstracts, Atlases, Journals, Microforms, Newspapers, Periodicals, Reference Books & Thesis
    • o Non-Circulating (Limited checkout with Librarian approval)
  • Archives & Special Collections
    • Non-Circulating (Limited checkout with University Archivist approval)
  • Holocaust Library
    • Non-Circulating (Limited checkout with Holocaust Personnel approval)
  • ILL (Interlibrary Loan)
    • No Checkout
Borrower Responsibility
  • Have your library card
  • Retain your library receipts
  • Know when books are due to be returned
  • Renew books on or before the due date
  • Be accountable for all activity that takes place on your library account
  • Return books to the Circulation Desk return bin or the outside bookdrop on or before the due date
  • Return recalled books as soon as possible
  • Exercise care in handling all library books
  • Report damage (torn pages, highlighting, etc.) to items at checkout
  • Be aware of posted library hours, changes in hours, or schedule variations
  • Pay any applicable fines or fees for lost or damaged library books
  • Notify Circulation of any contact information changes
  • Notify Circulation if your library card is lost or stolen
Fine/Fee Schedule

  • $ .25 cents Overdue fine per day, per book to a $10.00 maximum late fine per book

  • $1.00 Overdue fine per day, per McNaughton book to a $10.00 maximum late fine per book

  • $1.00 Overdue fine per hour, per non-circulating item (bound/loose journals, special collections, Reference, etc.) to a $20.00 maximum late fine per item

  • $5.00 Replacement library card fee

  • $5.00 Minimum fee for damage to an item (broken spine, highlighting, missing labels/barcode, torn pages, water damage, writing in item, etc.) up to the full replacement cost of the item

  • $20.00 Library processing fee for lost/damaged items

Replacement charges for lost/damaged books are assessed as follows:

Cost of book + $20 processing fee + billing fee

Lost Item Refunds

In the event of the recovery and return of an item that has been paid for as a lost item, a refund may be issued for the cost of the item only. Processing and billing fees are not refundable. To receive a refund, the item must be undamaged and returned to the Circulation Department within 6 months from the original payment date. Items will be evaluated before a refund is granted. Refund checks can take up to 30 days to be issued.

One University Drive Orange CA 92866
714-532-7756